Home » Uncategorized » 4M in Prospect Park

4M in Prospect Park

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Early start for a 4M in Prospect park, at 8:00. BPOTY Best Performance of the Year, 9:50 per mile.

Wake up at 6:30, quick breakfast, a glass of orange juice and 2 fruit yogurts.

We took a taxi to Brooklyn, and saw the massive fog over the East river. Manhattan was OK. On the bridge, we couldn’t see the river, too much fog. Amazing.

We ran from Grand Army Plaza to the start line for warming up. The temps were lower than expected, 12-15C. Much higher than usual in February. I ran in short and with my 2007 Tokyo Marathon T-shirt as the 11th edition will take place tonight with a new faster course.

My race : I started too fast, at 9:35 for the first mile, which is down hill for a quarter mile then after a sharp left turn, up hill. Then the next two miles, slightly downhill, at 9:34 and 9:24.

Then I blew up for the last mile at 10:17. The last 0.06 miles in 34 secs for a total of 39:24 on my watch, 39:19 for the NYRR clock. Gun time of 45:10.

I started in corral I. Lots of people today, with 5,258 runners. I finished 3,552 on time, 148th in my age group out of 201.

I was too slow on the hills (up and down). Not enough speed. A bit tired so my heart beat went up too fast. Need some more strength training.

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

