Home » Challenge » Al Gordon 4 miles in Prospect Park : so nice and so cold !

Al Gordon 4 miles in Prospect Park : so nice and so cold !

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Hello world !

We had another Arctic blast Thursday and Friday. We had -10 C to -20 C, with -30 C in the suburbs. The wind was terrible.

I was expecting the worse. But we had a “fair” cold weather, -8 C with -15 C with windchill.

We took the Q line from Times Square to go to Prospect Park in Brookline. The 7:17 train arrived early by 2 minutes! And it is running every 15 minutes! We arrived just in time to take the train. After 25 minutes in an empty train car, we arrived in Brooklyn after passing above the frozen New York East River at 7:40.

Some volunteers guided us to the departure line. We just had time to deposit our bags and join the back of the pack. Then off we went, at 7:58! Again 2 minutes !

We cross the departure line in about 2:30, instead of the usual 10 minutes, so we concluded that very few runners joined today. It was a NYRR race, exclusively for NYRR members, low-key, non qualifying for the much sought 9+1 NY marathon scheme.

With the cold weather, many runners stayed home. We had bibs in the 2000-3500 range, much lower than the usual 6000~.

The park was superb, snow-covered, without ice on the roads, with some nice rolling hills, much flatter than Central Park. Superb roads and nice lake. A runner paradise.

We saw some local runners, but much less than in CP, which seems to be the jogger mecca in the NY area.

Without pushing too much, Ev. improved her personal best on the 4 miles by about 2 minutes at 49:07. Congratulations !

I followed and encourage her all along 😉

In 2015, Ev. will probably qualify for the 2016 New York Marathon through the 9+1 program as she registered to more 5K, 4M and 10K in the Spring! Big question, will she go for it ?

I need to plan for my races in Autumn, NY marathon, a 50M or a 60K in CP and Hawaii’s Honolulu marathon with Eli. I want to definitely breach my half and marathon Personal Bests this year. I need a 2:00 half and a 4:30 full. I need to run the races, not jog them.

I need to get in shape, better core, lower weight. I also really want to try again rock climbing, but I need to lose 10~15 kg. I’ll have to hit the gym more often. Like later today or/and tomorrow !

I need also to control food/drinks in take. I stopped coffee three weeks ago. I reduced sharply wine/beer. I may have to go completely dry to reach my goals.

Next week: Washington Heights 5K. Hilly and exposed at the Northern point of Manhattan Island. Stay tune!

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

