Home » Challenge » NYRR Fred Lebow Half marathon Jan 25 2015

NYRR Fred Lebow Half marathon Jan 25 2015

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Half Marathon time looks like your marathon PB ! Congratulations !

Fred Lebow Manhattan Half Jan 25 2015

In a cold but sunny early Sunday morning, thousands of runners lined up in Central Park near Columbus circle (CC). This is good for me as I just ran up from my HK place to the start in 20 minutes.

HK is Hong Kong. Or used to be for us over the past 3 years. Now, it is Hell’s Kitchen.

Start at 8:00 by 36F, i.e. 2C. Some snow 😉

As I warmed up on the way (I still think that HK-CC is up hill), I managed to start on a good pace, overtaking the usual misplaced runners, located in corrals ahead of us but slower. I moved up one corral this year as I did good on a five kilometres race. My best was my mile performance, but it was not taken into account. So, to move up next year, I need to focus on a PB pace on a FLAT 5K or 4M race. I insist on the flat aspect as Central Park is everything you want but flat.

I started 20~30 meters ahead of the 2:15 pacers. They overtook me on mile 4 up the hills from South Harlem and I followed them till mile 13. They did a really great job, but they ultimately went too fast for me.

The sun came up, the snow stopped and the wind was not strong at all.

I was overdressed as usual. Long leggings and short + Tshirt, 2 long sleeves technical shirts and a running vest + ski mask + my little blue bonnet ! I should go for one shirt and let the ski mask home or in the drop bag.

I was under trained, as usual. I ran zero meters last week. I need to change that. I planned to take early calls on the treadmill but never did it so far. When returning home, I planned to go to the gym before dinner but I return too late and too drained. If I had a healthy snack at 3-4 p.m., it would help on the energy side of things.

I had a very good Kaiseki dinner for my daughter dinner last night. She is came to this world in Tokyo, Japan ! The restaurant was authentic Kyoto ryori. Food, service and decor were close to perfection. It was like travelling to Kyoto Higashiyama to a Ryotei for the evening. And returning home from Tribeca 😉

I finished my race in 2:18:33. I ran the same course in October in 2:23:54 for the Memorial Sloan Kettering and the Staten Island Half in 2:19:35. I’m improving which is good to know. Same course comparison is an amazing improvement of 5’21”. I’m heavier than in the Autumn by 4 kilogrammes. So, I still have a good margin of progression in front of me.

My bib was 6709, my finisher place was 3584th, 2332th men and 296th of my age group. Overall pace of 10:35 on the hilly course.

I really enjoyed the race. I stayed with the pace maker longer than usual. She was lively, calling the racers overtaking us and keeping a good pace. I had bad cramps after the finish line, which is exactly where you should be cramped. I enjoyed my cinnamon raisin roll, apple and pretzels. I’m tired and happy.

Leave a Reply

The Running Rebel

Relentless Forward Motion

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

Miss. Once Upon A Marathon

Enjoy the run. Both in life and on the roads.

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

