Home » New York » NYRR 9 + 1 program = route to New York Marathon 2015

NYRR 9 + 1 program = route to New York Marathon 2015

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I ran 5 races since June when I immigrated to the US. I also volunteered once for NYRR, New york Road Runners.

Once I’ll reach 9 races in 2014 and 1 volunteering, I’ll be qualified for next year New York Marathon, if i maintain my membership at NYRR, if i managed to run all these races… if the rules don’t change…

I ran so far since I landed in the US :

1 – In Central Park,2014 Boomer’s Cystic Fibrosis Run to the cure, 4 miles, on July 12, 2014, in 40:56, 10:14 per mile.

2 – The Percy Sutton Harlem, 5K Run, on August 23, 2014, in 29:26, i.e. 9:30 minutes per mile.

3 – In Central Park, the 2014 Autism Speaks 4 Miles of Hope, September 6, 2014, in 44:58, i.e. 11:15 minutes per mile.

4 – NYRR Fifth Avenue Mile, on September 13, 2014 in 7:43, on the world famous 5th Avenue, from the Metropolitan Museum to the Apple Store 😉

5 – TCS New York City Marathon Tune-Up (18M), on September 14, 2014, in 3:36:29, 12:02 minutes per mile, three long loops in Central Park.

6 – NYRR Five-Borough Series: Bronx 10-Mile, on September 28, 2014, in 1:47:32, 10:46 minutes per mile, a great run in the morning, good weather and a lot of people. Finished 7142 / 9462 overall, 4080 /4730 for men, 439 for my age.

7 – Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Fred Team, a half marathon, on October 5, 2014, in 2:23:54, 11:00 minutes per mile exactly, a slow tempo run on Sunday, quite cold with only 8 degrees Celsius and only 4 with wind chill. But i think it was a great race, very hilly with 300 meters of elevations over the two long loops around Central Park. The departure at 9:00 was a bit late and the course got really crowded at the end. A 7:00 start would have been better. Finished 5089 / 5970 overall, 2740 /3027 for men, 314th for my age group. I ran in Asics yellow shoes + X2U long pants + Asics short + NYRR technical  Tshirt+ technical long sleeve Asics thermo protection + Asics breathing jacket + yellow hat. I was quite conservative 😉 and slow as usual. I’m very happy with the ability to maintain a regular and conservative pace.

8 – 2014 NYRR 5-Borough Series: Staten Island half marathon, on October 12, 2014, in 2:19:35, 10:40 minutes per mile, a windy race course on the East side of Staten Island. Same clothes than last week, no bag. Half way, I took off the gloves and the hat. I was very sunny. I tried to follow the 2:15 guy initially but he went away too fast, I caught with him later, then I reached the 2:10 guys but could not stay with the pace maker. The pace makers for the 2:15 did a great job and I stayed with them till the 9th mile and the big hill to the foot of the Verrazano Bridge. I then slowed down to 12 minutes per mile till the finish. I like the raisin bagel after the finish line set inside the Richmond County Bank Yankees stadium at St George on the home plate. And I got a second medal: Bronx + Staten Island !

Finished 7481/8868, 4433/4901 for men and 441th for my age group. My best race in the US in terms of feeling, consistency and pace, my worst results versus the competition 😉

9 – 2014 Dash to the Finish Line. From the United Nations, past Grand Central on 42nd street, up to Bryant park, then North on the 6th Avenue, then in to the park to the NYC Marathon finish line. Some rain, 7 degrees, 12000 registered but only 7424 finishers. I ran with E and E. E junior ran ahead and finished in 35 minutes, while I ran with E senior and finished in 39:50 , 12:50 per mile, 6586/7424, 3120/3396 men.

I volunteered for a 20 miler in Central Park, a long 4 hours race in July.

And a 60 K in Central Park in November, but this is another project all together.

I try the impossible, and it is quite intense.

1 Comment

  1. […] NYRR 9 + 1 program = route to New york Marathon 2015 « Running … […]

Leave a Reply

The Running Rebel

Relentless Forward Motion

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

Miss. Once Upon A Marathon

Enjoy the run. Both in life and on the roads.

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

