Home » Race report » Honolulu Marathon : Dec 7th 5:41:27

Honolulu Marathon : Dec 7th 5:41:27

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Much faster than last year 😉 by 6 minutes.

Great training in altitude on Maui. I melted again after 21k. Not enough stamina, heavy legs after 30k, good spirits all along.

I tried not to look at my performance, just focused on my 7+1 strategy, 7 minutes running, 1 minute walking. After the half point, I lost focus and increased the walking time tremendously.

I set up an automatic feed on my facebook page:

Departure at 5:00 a.m. with great fireworks, 13+ minutes to cross the departure line! Temperature in the low 20s Celsius. Lots of runners (about 30,000) and about 50% of them Japanese ! We had the Hawaii benediction and the Star-Spangled Banner, the USA National Anthem. We could also have the Japanese national anthem 😉

Daniel Seite has reached the 10km mark of the Honolulu Marathon at 6:24:37.
10km Split: 01:11:00

The 10km split is just before the major hill of the race, Diamond Head. I ran uphill very fast as I’ve great training from our hiking program. Many runners are simply walking up. They would catch up with me on the down hills where I struggle. We saw the first handicapted racers at kilometer 41, racing downhill towards the finish line at 60+ km/h.

Daniel Seite reached the 13.1 mile mark of the Honolulu Marathon at 7:48:27.
13.1 Mile Split: 02:34:50

The half way point is on the highway toward Hawaii Kai area. We have half of the road for the day. Very good organisation. They had showers for runners at that point. The sun was already up and the heat started!

Daniel Seite has reached the 30km mark of the Honolulu Marathon at 9:05:44.
30km Split: 03:52:07

On my way back to Waikiki, along the sea. I saw two firemen in full regalia and two army guys with backpacks. Lots of Japanese walkers. I really struggled on the way back, walking in the shade, running in the sun till the next row of trees.

Daniel Seite has completed the Honolulu Marathon in a time of 05:41:27!
Full results @ www.honolulumarathon.org

After a circuit along the golf course in Kahala and another passage at the bottom of the Diamond head ( small hill of +40 meters), we plunged towards Waikiki after a last concert of Japanese Taiko.

I knew I would finish, it was not a problem. I didn’t want to hurt myself. I want to run more marathons. The mental part is fine, it is very easy for me now not to give up, to keep going. It is still difficult to have enough power in the legs to keep running for 5 hours under the sun. I trained all summer and autumn in the heat in HongKong but on shorter distances. Hiking is giving strength, running uphill is fine, but we don’t hike more than 20 km a day.

I ran with my music on from the 5th to the 25th kilometer, then on and off. Last down hill 2 kilometers were tough, surprisingly. My legs were toast. The last long straight line is always too long. I just finished marathon #12 (7 x Tokyo, 2 x Tsukuba, 1 x Hong Kong and now 2 x Honolulu). Let’s bring Tokyo Marathon #8.

 

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

