Home » Training » Walking up to the Hong Kong Peak

Walking up to the Hong Kong Peak

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeling tired, I didn’t go for a long walk on Saturday. But in the afternoon, I decided to go up to the Peak.

Multiple options are available: the tramway from Garden Road, the bus from Central or a taxi from everywhere. However, I decided to walk up Old Peak Road. Starting from Botanical garden, I went up the congested Old Peak road. So many taxis moving people from Central to Mid Levels apartment blocks or to the Peak. Half way up, I left the road to reach a walking path and after another 30 minutes, I reached the top and the crowds.

On the way to the Peak

Old Peak Road

On the way down, I followed another road to go to the Women and Children Hospital before moving down hills through Chatham path. Very hilly and very nice rain forest environment. You just forget you’re in Hong Kong. A small temple at the bottom remind me we’re still in Asia.

Chatham Path

Chatham Path

The Peak Tower is at 396 meters above sea level. My starting point on Macdonnel road is at most 100 meters above see level. So it’s about 300 meters (984 feet) elevation gain treck. Should I go up there every once in a while to fight obesity?

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

