Home » Race report » Another day, another marathon: Tsukuba November 28th 2010

Another day, another marathon: Tsukuba November 28th 2010

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Tsukuba marathon report.

Short version: great day, good and flat course, racing plan executed perfectly.

Long version:

We had a great day in Tsukuba, cold, but no wind and sunny all day. Between 12 and 17 degrees. Perfect weather for a performance.

The course is flat apart from two bridges at (1K and 41K and 6K/35K). It a long spurs type race course where you can see all runners once. We go to the 21.1 half way then we come back on the other side of the road. I saw one Namban runner.

My race plan was a new strategy. As I had to stop my training suddenly in October for personal and family reasons – I went from 30-40K a week to zero for 6 weeks – and as I decided to run two days before the race after settling all my issues (yes, you can), I had to race with a careful approach.

I elected to run 5 minutes, then to walk one minute. These six minutes blocks are repreated 10 times an hour and easy to control on any watch, changes to a walk at 5, 11, 17, 23, 29, 35, 41, 47, 53 and 59. I went like that for about three hours, then I walked 1 hour, then did it again more erratically. I passed the cut off at mid race easily but I’ve almost been stopped at 32K. I had then, at 32K, another 10K to do in 90 minutes, which required a faster pace than expected. However, my legs were fresh thanks to the run/walk routine. I finished 4 minutes inside the 6 hours cut off time. My watch time is 5:46 as we passed the start line in 10 minutes.

The good points:
– I had fresh legs during and after the efforts. I never recovered that quickly.
– I lost the focus on each 1K point and focused on regular pace.
The bad points:
– I should have started with 9/1 split then move down to 7/1 and 5/1 later. When I grew tired, I had no room to slow the pace.

I try it again later in December at Ota 10 miles race.

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

