Home » Uncategorized » Tokyo Marathon Report: PB 4:57'53"

Tokyo Marathon Report: PB 4:57'53"

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Oh my god, I did it again. Third Tokyo Marathon and third PB.

I finished below 5 hours as planned. Sugoi! I am so happy.

No injuries, great souvenirs, a lot of FUN. A lot of wind and some rain, tough from Asakusa (28K) till arrival at Tokyo Big Sight, with the 4 bridges.

So many souvenirs, such a great day, some great stories.

The first 10K are pure mess as 10K and marathon runners are fighting for running space. We had sun on the way down to Shinagawa and back to Hibiya. I overtook a 81 year old runner who went to Helsinki Olympics in 1952. I didn’t take my sunglasses as rain was expected. And it rained! A cold rain came after 22K, between Ginza and Asakusa, cold and with strong gust of wind. The crowds were everywhere. The return to Ginza seemed quite long with no major place of interest. But so many people supported us. I enjoyed the Kabukiza area, just before the mysterious docklands. Leaving civilization to enter the low lands. When reaching the docks, we faced the wind, a small typhoon. Some trains lines had been stopped. Anyway, I was already quite slow and I just had to take care of not losing my cap.

The public support was fantastic. I got support from some of my family, my friends, colleagues and support from Namban Rengo cheer team. Thanks you to all. Special note for Ivanovich and Kaining who were at Hibiya, Ginza and Toyosu. We missed each other in the chaos of the arrival. I saw Kenji at Hibiya koen, Sachiko at Tamachi, I missed Masuo in Kanda. Namban cheer leaders were everywhere, at Shinagawa, Ginza, Shin Nihonbashi, and at kilometer 41. I ran with Nambans, with colleagues and 35000 runners. Thank you all for your fantastic support. I got a kick each time and it helped tremendously.

The support was really, really great this year. Namban Rengo is really a famous club around Tokyo. Many officials cheered on me as well as people quick enough to read and pick up the four kanjis. Many people were dressed up. I ran along side a guy dressed as a guy going to the sento with his towel and shower materials, next to a secret agent with suit and a right black earphone. Runners with flags were popular: people from Finland, Germany, Korea, USA, UK. I’ve been overtaken by a small girl dressed as a cow. I overtook a chicken. I also quickly overtook Father and Miss Christmas this year.

I saw quite a few people supporting Tyler Foundation. Good cause.

I drank and ate at regular interval, I had 4 cereal bars with me for the first 20K. After, we had banana stands quite often. A lot of supporters were offering oranges, bananas, sugars, chocolates, bonbons.

Official site gives 5:11’56. Watch is 4:57’53. My starting point was block J, at the back of the pack. Even K block started ahead of us.

However, my first split is 29:09 versus official 43:16, so my official departure time is 14:07 after kick off time.

Watch PB by 32’25”.
Gun time PB by 27’03”. Last year, i started in block F.
I also improved my 25K and 30K best performance.

My splits:

Before the start: 14:07
5K : 29:09
10K: 31:24
15K: 31:39
20K: 33:12
25K: 36:07
30K: 39:22
35K: 39:42
40K: 40:15
Finish : 16:59

My list of PB:

100m: 17″21 (track 07)
200m: 43″01 (track 07)
400m: 1’35″52 (track Dec 08)
800m: 3’44″51 (track 07)
1K: 4’28″91 (Ekiden Carnival 08)
1 mile: 8’07″70 (track August 13, 2008)
5K: 26’53″41 (Track Feb 09)
10K: 56’10” (Odawara Houtoku 10K, Nov 08)
15K: 1:29’36″(Chiba Marine 09)
20K: 2:01’53″(Chiba Marine 09)
Half marathon: 2:08’50” (Chiba Marine 09)
25K: 2:41′ (Tokyo Marathon 09) by 4 minutes
30K: 3:21′ (Tokyo Marathon 09) by 10 minutes
35K: 4:01′ (Tokyo Marathon 09) new reference
42.195K: 4:57’53” (watch time), 5:11’56” (Tokyo official 09 marathon time)

Week: 52 km
Month: 109.6 km
Year: 474.9 km

2 Comments

  1. AmxxTokyo says:

    Sugoi !je suis passé a coté de la zone de depart vers 6 heures du mat’sa commençait deja a s’activer mais j’ai pas eu le courage d attendre pour voir le depart (nuit blanche)Anyway congratulations. I just saw you finish on internet just after I woke up and was impressed by this performance … I’ll have to do it on day !

  2. Pascal SEITÉ says:

    Salut le coureurB R A V O !Je regarde le Haru Basho et le rugby d’hier avec ma poche de glace qui passe de genou à genou à épaule. Drôle de contraste avec ta course bien maîtrisée. Remets-toi bien !Pascal

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

