Home » Uncategorized » Tokyo Marathon : Eigo version

Tokyo Marathon : Eigo version

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

The Archives file

My timeline Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

So, I finished my second marathon in 5:39:01, gun time. I spent 8:28 to cross the starting line, so my new personal best is 5:30:33, an improvement of 6:17 ( -11:47 for the official time).

Same program as last year but with a much better weather, dry and cold with some wind from the North. I ran with long pants, two technical T shirts and a cycling vest marked Bretagne, white with black fleurs de lys. I also had a yellow hat.

I ran fine from the start to Ichigaya, Iidabashi, Hibiya then down to Shinagawa. I has a 33 minutes per 5k rhythm and I was fine. I supported my colleagues of Namban Rengo on the way down to Shinagawa, Bob, Paddy, Gerard, Joachim, Rie, others in Namban colors, and others not in Namban shirts but with similar shirts:-). They were doing quite good. On the way back, I was overtaken by Anna, who’s recovering from injury. So at 17.5k, I was again the slowest NR runner around.

My lack of training and dedication for running started to weight from the 20th kilometer. I slowed down dramatically as I was unable to maintain a decent jog rhythm. From Ginza to Asakusa, the popular support was fantastic. The Gambare, Fight, go did well to support us. The noise level was amazing. At Ohtawara marathon, there was a supporter every 5K :-)[I did their unofficial half in 2:12 last November].The docks after kilometer 35 were as windy and terrible as last year with all the bridges and the long straight lines.

I discussed with a couple of runners, very friendly, near the end of the race. We finished the race with a couple of talentos from NNN, a female presentator who overtook me and a fatter male talento that I tried to keep behind me, but he kept rushing ahead, pausing, rushing… Some of their presentators finished well, within 3:30, the slowest in 6:50. Seven hours of prime time for a marathon on a private network ! I never heard of this in France for sure or in Europe before. I don’t know for the US.

The last kilometer starts with a hill, a last bridge to Odaiba Big Sight. The last fight of the day. I sprinted to finish in 5:39:01. Again a deep emotion submerged me after the arrival: I did it again. Cancer survivor, nine years of remission, running my second marathon, for the benefit of a foundation supporting cancer patients and their parents. I’m proud. I raised pledges for a large amount of money and I’m very proud of you all.

Thank you for your support and see again on the roads of life.

Oh, for next year, I keep the same three objectives:
– establishing a new world record, 2:03:00,
– first place at Tokyo Marathon,
– finishing again and raising pledges for a good cause.

Leave a Reply

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Type 1 Ultra

endurance sports in the weird and wonderful world of type 1 diabetes

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

So What? I run.

Live. Laugh. Run.

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

